Day 12: Boonville, NY – Pulaski, NY

Aloha! Sorry for the lack of pictures today. I will update the post with pictures once I’m able (flibbery internet is being uncooperative with my computer!). Today started early (5:30am) with acorns plopping on my tent. I camped last night at Stysh’s Brown Barn Campground just outside of Boonville. I rolled in with lots of daylight to spare and set up camp under a beautiful big tree. Mr. Stysh (pronounced “Swiss”) is a 2nd or 3rd generation dairy farmer of Polish descent. His parents converted the farm into a campground in the 80s and it remains a popular location for events, from weddings to graduation parties, to hosting bike tourists! Anyway, that’s the update from yesterday. I did indeed make it to Boonville, and it was awesome.

This morning I woke up (to plopping acorns and an alarm clock) and was on the road by 6:45. I was really really really glad for the early start because today was HOT. The ride from Boonville took me first to Osceola, where I stopped for a cup of coffee which turned out to be tea. No worries, just surprises. There have been far fewer hills of late, but the one directly out of Osceola really took me by surprise. Luckily it was just Flavie and the dumptrucks zooming along CR44. I had a wonderful time with the solitude. The weather was warm, but the headwind made for a beautiful breeze. I stopped in Orwell, NY to call Kit my WarmShowers host for the evening to let her know my ETA and to tell her that I was battling a bit of a headwind and might not be as speedy as first thought. I felt like I was pedaling through jello leaving Orwell. I had my first encounter with falling (don’t panic – it was slow motion and quite comical. I’m totally fine. Guffy is fine.) while clipped in to my pedals. Climbing a hill, a huge gust of wind came and blew us over. Just like that. It really was comical because I was trudging up a hill, not going very quickly, and then here comes Mr. Wind and just topples us! I was all alone on the road so no worries about cars. Who ever heard of such a thing!?!

From Orwell it was a quick-ish ride to Pulaski, where Kit met me at the bottom of the hill leading to her house. Along the road I saw many horses, and took a picture with Kruiky in mind. We had a great afternoon in Pulaski (and I will most certainly post pictures!) swimming in Lake Ontario, grocery shopping, doing laundry, cooking and eating dinner, doing some bike maintenance… Very relaxing!

Today marked a few firsts for me: first time seeing Lake Ontario… first time seeing an Amish buggy… first time being knocked over by the wind!

Great day overall. I’m off to sleep in 10 minutes. I’m really enjoying my 9am bedtime 5:30am wake up of late. My only concern for the morning is the potential of thunderstorms. Luckily for me, I’m not as isolated anymore as I was in the Adirondacks. There are many towns between Pulaski and my goal destination of Sodus Point tomorrow night. If I need to alter plans for the weather, I’m ready!

(Eek! Thunder overhead! I’m really thinking a weather radio would be a good thing to have on this trip…)

PS shout-out to my lab friends in Cambridge. I thought about you guys numerous times today. When can we go to Petsi Pies!?! 🙂

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 12: Boonville, NY – Pulaski, NY

  1. Shane says:

    Hey Flavia,

    Your trip looks/sound incredible and so inspiring. Wishing you the best on the rest of your adventure. Everyone at the lab misses you dearly. I definitely have some really big shoes to fill in your absence. Keep these posts coming and stay safe!!

  2. Rose says:

    Flav, I once saw someone fall over climbing up a hill that same way. She was ok so it was funny! You are doing so awesome!!!!

  3. olenabesch@mail.com says:

    Hello, dear Flavia! We following with you on yours unusual trip. This is amazing! Please, be safe! We proud of you and pray! Helen.

  4. sea mike c says:

    knocked over by the wind? try more brown rice!

  5. Joanne says:

    Petsi Pies! We haven’t been there since you left..not even once. Acutally your blog becomes our new Petsi Pies. It’s definitely a treat to read your posts and learn about all the fun experiences. Keep these posts coming and stay safe, and be sure not to surrender to Mr. Wind next time=)

  6. Michael says:

    I just remembered you had a blog! Let’s see, Sarah and I had a mixed berry petsi pie a few days ago. Lemon scone this morning. But yeah, no one is motivated for an afternoon petsi with the Flava gone.

Leave a Reply

