Day 21: Gibsonburg, OH – Defiance, OH

The end of week three came with a much needed surprise, a home stay in Defiance organized by my dear Professor friend in Brunswick, Jill Pearlman! My plan had been to really make a big ride of the day, all 100+ miles from Gibsonburg to Monroeville, Indiana. Little did I know what kind of wind I had in store!

I woke up to an amazingly busy sky:

I’d heard that thunderstorms were a big possibility for the day. The ride from Gibsonburg to Bowling Green was glorious. I was flying, in relative terms, at about 15mph.

There was one train track that provided a good opportunity to remind myself why I don’t listen to music while riding. I was off in lala land but my brain registered the sound of a train horn in the distance. I rolled up to a set of tracks and the memory came to me… train horn. Having been trained well in elementary school by my parents and Wary Walker, I looked left. Wow was I surprised!

Woosh! There wasn’t a guardrail marking the tracks, but they may be putting in lights to warn traffic. They were up but covered with black plastic bags. The whole experience was a good reminder to pay attention to the sounds as much as the sights around you. I was never in danger of the train, but I was grateful that my mind had registered the sound of the train horn even when my brain was somewhat off.

The rest of the ride into Bowling Green was uneventful. I found a grocery store in and scrounged together a good breakfast and checked my email on my ipad. I saw an email from Jill saying her friend’s parents lived in Defiance and were happy to host me. I called Jill and the Messermans and arranged to stay there in the evening. Rather than a 100+ mile ride, the day turned into a 70 mile day. I was really grateful and excited at the idea of a bed and laundry and good company!

While I was finishing up my breakfast, two men from Bowling Green/Defiance came up and asked me where I was headed. Answering Defiance, one of the men asked me my route. I told him I was planning on hugging the Maumee River basically the whole way there. He advised against this route due to construction, instead encouraging me to take route 281, a long long and very straight road. He thought it would be more direct and much more quiet. I decided to take their advice, so after wrapping up breakfast I headed out for Route 281.

Of the 43ish miles between Bowling Green and Defiance, 33 are on one long road. I thought it would go quickly (flat road and all) but there was a mighty mighty headwind that held my speed to about 8.5mph. I’m not sure I can put in words what 33 miles at 8.5mph feels like. David and Goliath came to mind. As did the Borg from Star Trek (“resistance is futile”). I kept plodding those 4+ hours because of the prospect of kind grandparents, a warm shower, and a bed. I also kept plodding because I had no other choice. It is amazing what your body is capable of when your mind cooperates. I wasn’t a pretty sight.

I took a break to sit out a thunderstorm. I took this picture before the storm hit me. I was biking straight into it.

I took a break to take a picture of a flag on the side of the road. It was patriotically mocking me.

In the end, I made it to Defiance. I was overjoyed to meet the Messermans. They invited me to get cleaned up (I think I smelled like something horrid!) and took me to dinner at a local restaurant that has been in the news of late. Kissner’s Restaurant is owned by Karl Kissner, one of the cousins who discovered a great stash of old baseball cards in the attic of his Grandfather’s home. It is a great story, and finally some good news in the US! I even got to meet Mr. Kissner, and Mrs. Messerman was so sweet introducing us. She said, “I think we have two local heroes here today.” 🙂

I loved my introduction to Defiance. I slept like a pig in a blanket. All I can hope for is more favorable winds going forward, but at the end each hiccup is an experience worth the slogging to get to.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 21: Gibsonburg, OH – Defiance, OH

  1. Alison Pirie says:

    Saw the news about Karl Kissner on TV last week–how cool to think I now know someone who knows him. Hope you run into some winds blowing toward the west for a change!

Leave a Reply

