Day 42: Tappen, ND – Bismarck, ND

I fell asleep to the wind battering my tent, but I was cozy inside and was quickly asleep. I woke up around midnight to what I could only imagine sounded like a tornado siren. It was clearly an alarm meant for the whole town, and it woke me from my toasty slumber very quickly. My brain was fuzzy, and I didn’t know what else to do, so I climbed out of my tent to look around. The wind had quieted down substantially, and I didn’t see anyone running to tornado shelters as they might in a real tornado. I was very confused. The town was almost entirely quiet, and within 5 minutesthe siren stopped. I saw a pickup drive by and I tried to flag down the driver, but he kept rolling. I was heading back to my tent when the truck came around the block and stopped. I went over and asked what the siren was about. It turns out the communities along the freeway in North Dakota are so sparse that each town acts as the fire and rescue along their stretch. There’d been a fire on the freeway that they responded to. It all made so much more sense! The man got a chuckle out of my thinking there was a tornado. 🙂 It turned out he’d passed me during the day as I slowly trudged towards Tappen. It was good to have a new friend in town!

I woke up early and made good time to Steele where Matthew and Ryan had stayed the night. I hadn’t planned on meeting up with them till the afternoon, but I got a text from Ryan saying they’d had a late night and wouldn’t be leaving early. I found them just packing up their tents!

20120817-125626.jpg

It was sooo cold! Even in the sun my teeth were chattering! Here I am wearing my thermal shirt, orange hoody, down coat, and raincoat. Almost not cold!

20120817-125936.jpg

It warmed up a bit over the course of the day. The scenery was spectacular. Sunflowers as far as the eye could see!

20120817-130101.jpg

Bismarck was a great place for Thusday night. Ryan and I went to the farmers market and stocked up on cucumbers and peppers. I also met a wonderfully fuzzy little pup! He’s 4 but you’d think he was a puppy. So sweet!

20120817-130348.jpg

More stories from Bismarck to come!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 42: Tappen, ND – Bismarck, ND

  1. Michael says:

    Whoa!! Bismarck! Isn’t that close to where Judy Garland got sucked into a tornado and was transported to Oz where all Fairy Tale broke loose? — Michael Hummell

  2. Becca says:

    I love the picture of you in a sunflower field! Such a contrast from rain storm to sunny skies and sunflowers! Happy biking!

Leave a Reply

